Skip to main content

Surfshark’s website safety settings

Surfshark's website safety settings are an online safety feature available on the Surfshark browser extension platform. This feature now includes new functionality that checks websites in Google Search results and warns you if the link is unsafe before opening it.

Google search results with Surfshark safety warning icons

 

How to configure Surfshark’s website safety settings

  1. Open your Surfshark browser extension and go to the Settings menu.

    Surfshark extension connected with Settings cog circled
     
  2. Click on Website safety settings.

    Extension settings with Website safety settings circled
     
  3. Here you can toggle:

    1. Data breach alert — if this toggle is set to the On position, you will get a warning that this website has previously experienced a data breach. Warnings will also be displayed in Google Search results.
    2. Malware alert — if this toggle is set to the On position, you will get a warning that this website contains malware or signs of phishing/scams. Warnings will also be displayed in Google Search results.
       

    Website safety settings with Data breach and Malware alerts on
     

Surfshark's Data Breach alert

Data breach warnings indicate that the website has been breached in the past. If you're considering visiting such a website, we strongly recommend not entering any of your personal details.

With Surfshark’s data breach alert toggled on, you'll receive a warning like this in your Google Search results page:

Google results with Surfshark We detected a data breach card

Additionally, when navigating a website that has previously experienced data breaches, you'll see this warning at the top of the page:

Website banner saying this website has been breached or leaked data

You can click on the warning to view more details about the breach:

Expanded Surfshark data breach details banner on a website

You can also turn off notifications for the specific website you're visiting by pressing the X at the top right corner, and then pressing Turn off on the notification that appears:

Turn off notifications for this website dialog
 

Surfshark's malware/phishing alerts

With Surfshark Malware alert toggled on, you'll receive warnings about websites that may try to steal your data or infect your device:

  • If you see a malware alert, we highly recommend not entering such websites, as it may compromise your device.

    Google results with Surfshark We detected malware card
     
  • If you see a phishing/scam alert in Google Search results, we highly recommend avoiding such websites, as they may attempt to steal your data.

    Google results with Surfshark We detected signs of phishing card

    Nonetheless, if you accidentally click on a website flagged as malicious or would like to visit it anyway, you'll be presented with an additional phishing or malware warning screen:

    Surfshark detected phishing on this website interstitial

    From this page, you can:
    • Return to your Google Search results by pressing Back to safety;
    • Enter the page anyway at your own risk by pressing Visit website anyway;
    • Report the website falsely flagged as malicious by pressing Report it to us.

 

Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!